Search South Australia x

2017 Bendigo Bank Mortlock Shield

Start date: 10 June 2017

End date: 12 June 2017

From $10 Adult, $8 Concession, $5 Child, $3 Vehicle

The Mortlock Shield Championships is the longest running football carnival in South Australia, possibly Australia. The first championship was held in Port Lincoln in 1936, it continues to be held in Port Lincoln today. Founded in 1936 it continues to be a springboard for young country players to go on to elite level football in the S.A.N.F.L. Competition and some to the A.F.L. It is also a yardstick of the relative strengths of Community Football Leagues in the area. The participating Leagues are representative of half of the rural area of the state of South Australia, taking in all of Eyre Peninsula and the Far North