Skip to content

Idyllic Visions - Master Series 7

06 Sep 2019 - 07 Sep 2019
Next Occurrence : 06 Sep 2019
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Price from $35


Some people are gifted with a profound inner peace, an assurance that all shall be well, however dark and dreadful the world around them becomes.

During World War II, Ralph Vaughan Williams wrote a symphony of singular calm and solace. Close your eyes and be carried by the slow, steady chords of the heavenly Romanza – here you may rest deeply.

A horn solo, soft but sure, awakens Brahms’ Second Piano Concerto. It’s symphonic in scope, with four movements and a notoriously challenging piano part, but Stephen Hough, with an inner calm of his own, reveals it as an intimate dialogue between soloist and orchestra: “a search for common ground where, as in life, the sun can shine brightest... and warmest.”

Mark Wigglesworth - Conductor
Stephen Hough - Piano

Vaughan Williams - Symphony No.5
Brahms - Piano Concerto No.2


From $ 35 to $ 297


  • Entity Facility

    Family Friendly
    Non Smoking
    Public Toilet

  • Access With Assistance for the Disabled

    Disabled access available, contact operator for details