Skip to content

Tchaikovsky’s Daydreams – Master Series 3

23 Apr 2020 - 24 Apr 2020
Next Occurrence : 23 Apr 2020
6:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Price from $35


It’s been called the concerto in which Mozart truly became Mozart. The composer turned 21 and turned out his Ninth Piano Concerto at around the same time, and the musical result is a miracle of effortless elegance and deep sincerity. The ever-popular French pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet makes a welcome return to Adelaide with this ‘coming-of-age’ concerto.

Tchaikovsky’s seldom-heard First Symphony more than lives up to its tantalising subtitle, Winter Daydreams. Written by a determined young man in his mid-twenties, this work heralded the beginning of a uniquely Russian symphonic tradition. It has all the hallmarks of Tchaikovsky’s best-loved music: memorable melodies, Russian melancholy, an enchanting waltz and an extravagant finale.

Rossini’s attention-grabbing overture to William Tell makes a fitting introduction to these two youthful masterpieces.

Ben Gernon - Conductor
Jean-Effalam Bavouzet - Piano

Program includes:
Rossini William Tell Overture
Mozart Piano Concerto No.9 Jeunehomme
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.1 Winter Daydreams


From $ 35 to $ 125


  • Entity Facility

    Family Friendly
    Non Smoking
    Public Toilet