Attraction
Murray River Lakes and Coorong
Original Site of the Coonalpyn Primary School
Murray River Lakes and Coorong
Free
Attraction
The original Coonalpyn Primary School was established in 1889, more than 20 years before the township of Coonalpyn was officially proclaimed. This first school site sat around three kilometres south‑east of today's town centre along what is now the Dukes Highway, serving farming families and early settlers in the district.
In 1928, the school relocated to its second and now former campus on Coombe Terrace, west of Coonalpyn, where it continued to operate for almost a century. After a long period of declining enrolments and no students enrolled in 2022, the school was formally closed in April 2023.
A marker now identifies the location of the original 1889 site, offering a glimpse into the region's early educational history. For visitors who enjoy a little adventure, a geocache is hidden near the site marker - making it a fun stop for travellers exploring local heritage.
In 1928, the school relocated to its second and now former campus on Coombe Terrace, west of Coonalpyn, where it continued to operate for almost a century. After a long period of declining enrolments and no students enrolled in 2022, the school was formally closed in April 2023.
A marker now identifies the location of the original 1889 site, offering a glimpse into the region's early educational history. For visitors who enjoy a little adventure, a geocache is hidden near the site marker - making it a fun stop for travellers exploring local heritage.
Price