Skip to content

Glenelg Jetty

Free

Overview

The first Glenelg Jetty was 381 metres long with a T-head and wooden lighthouse. This section was destroyed by fire in 1873. In 1906 a three-storey pavilion was added at the end of the jetty and railway tracks were laid along its length to service coastal shipping. The aquarium was built in 1929, showcasing fish, sea lions and sharks. In 1948 a major storm swept through Holdfast Bay, destroying the jetty and leaving just the pavilion and aquarium, they were later removed. In 1969 the current, much shorter, jetty was constructed.

Glenelg is Adelaide’s favourite seaside destination set on the long sandy white beaches of Holdfast Bay. Only 20 minutes from the city and five minutes from Adelaide Airport, Glenelg is a fabulous place to relax, explore and experience Adelaide at its best. It's renowned for its wide beach, stunning sunsets, rich heritage, charming hotels and bustling shops, sidewalk cafes and loads of entertainment.

Price

Free

Features