Skip to content
8 Nov 2018

See the full list of winners from the South Australian Tourism Awards and discover what makes them the best in their category.

The South Australian Tourism Awards celebrate the very best of our world-famous tours, products, festivals and events. We raise our glass to 2018’s winners. From the ancient peaks of the Flinders Ranges and Outback to the lush valleys of the Adelaide Hills, thank you for showing South Australia to the world.

2018 South Australian Award Winners

Major Tourist Attractions

Winner: Adelaide Zoo

Tourist Attractions

Winner: The d’Arenberg Cube
Silver: Calypso Star Charters
Bronze: Bendleby Ranges

Major Festivals and Events

Winner: WOMADelaide 2018
Silver: Santos Tour Down Under
Bronze: Royal Adelaide Show

Festivals and Events

Winner: Unley Gourmet Gala 2018
Silver: Yorke Peninsula Saltwater Classic 2018


Winner: Murray River Walk
Silver: Adventure Bay Charters
Bronze: Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden

Cultural Tourism

Winner: South Australian Museum
Silver: Adelaide’s Haunted Horizons
Bronze: Coriole Vineyards

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Tourism

Winner – Hall of Fame: Aboriginal Cultural Tours

Specialised Tourism Services

Winner: Proud Mary
Silver: BBQ Buoys
Bronze: Chinta Air Tours

Visitor Information Services

Winner: Fleurieu Coast Visitor Centre
Silver: McLaren Vale & Fleurieu Visitor Information Centre

Business Event Venues

Winner: Adelaide Hills Convention Centre
Silver: Stamford Grand Adelaide

Major Tour and Transport Operators

Winner – Hall of Fame: Wrightsair

Tour and Transport Operators

Winner: Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari
Silver: Adelaide Haunted Horizons
Bronze: Cellar Door Tours

Adventure Tourism

Winner: Calypso Star Charters
Silver: Bendleby Ranges
Bronze: RoofClimb Adelaide Oval

Destination Marketing

Winner: Yorke Peninsula Tourism
Silver: Destination Riverland: The Official Riverland Visitor Guide
Bronze: Coober Pedy Retail, Business & Tourism Association Marketing and Promotional Strategy

Tourism Restaurants and Catering Services

Winner: Botanic Gardens Restaurants

Tourism Wineries, Distilleries and Breweries

Winner: Seppeltsfield Estate Barossa
Silver: Dudley Wines
Bronze: d’Arenberg

Caravan and Holiday Parks

Winner: BIG4 Hahndorf Resort
Silver: BIG4 West Beach Parks
Bronze: BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park

Hosted Accommodation

Winner – Hall of Fame: Mulberry Lodge Country Retreat
Silver: Redwing Farmstay
Bronze: Perlubie Sea

Unique Accommodation

Winner: Majestic Minima Hotel
Silver: River Murray Houseboats Renmark
Bronze: Almerta Station

Self-contained Accommodation

Winner: The Frames Luxury Accommodation
Silver: Flinders Bush Retreats

Standard Accomodation

Winner: Beach Huts Middleton
Silver: The Marree Hotel
Bronze: Caledonian Inn Robe

Deluxe Accommodation

Winner: Wallaroo Marina Apartments
Silver: Adelaide Luxury Beach House

Luxury Accommodation

Winner – Hall of Fame: The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel

New Tourism Business

Winner: Vasse Virgin at Seppeltsfield
Silver: Muntiri Lodge Eco Retreat
Bronze: Mitolo Tasting Room

Excellence in Food Tourism

Winner: Willunga Farmers Market
Silver: Adelaide Central Market Tours

Outstanding Contribution by an Individual

Winner: Peter Cahalan

South Australian Tourism Student of the Year

Winner: Catherine Hughes 

Tourism education and training

Winner: TAFE SA
Silver: Quality Training and Hospitality College

Local Government Award for Tourism

Winner: City of Holdfast Bay

Taxi Driver of the Year

Winner: Ruzbeh Mehta
Runner-up: Avtar Bajwa

Excellence in Accessible Tourism

Winner: BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park
Silver: Naracoorte Caves
Bronze: Adelaide Zoo

Premier’s Award for Service Excellence

Winner: The d’Arenberg Cube